//
you're reading...
Baking

Agave Nectar Cupcake with Buttercream Frosting

I’m not sure about outside the vegan blogosphere, but it appears that everyone blogs about similar things at the same time. Maybe it’s similar to PMSing together, I’m not sure. However, we really can’t rule out mind control by those more prominent members of the community. Probably no topic has been more extensively explored than vegan cupcakes, which have taken ascendancy since Isa Chandra Moscowitz and Terry Hope Romero published ‘Vegan cupcakes take over the world‘. One day in the not too distant past,  I found a seriously gorgeous FlickR collection of vegan cupcakes  in a post-drinking haze that I’ve yet to find again, simply due to the sheer volume of material there is to search through (and also a seriously low attention span!). Anyways,  I’ve made quite a few of the cupcakes from VCTOTW and one that I keep coming back to is the Agave Nectar cupcake. The picture below was a from a test batch I made to display the pipe-ability of the butter cream frosting (from that same book) for a friend that was catering a wedding.

So very sexy. If there is a single vegan out there who hasn’t bought this book (or borrowed it to death from the library), do so now!

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Agave Nectar Cupcake with Buttercream Frosting

  1. This looks great! How easy is it to get agave nectar in Canberra?

    Posted by Kate | February 8, 2008, 7:19 am
  2. Thanks! It isn’t too hard to find agave here. I’d start with the health food section of supabarn, its the cheapest I’ve seen. Otherwise, ‘as nature intended’ in belconnen markets has it also.

    Posted by veggiecidal | February 9, 2008, 8:40 am

Leave a comment