//
you're reading...
Savoury, Snack foods

Shallot cake redux

Since leaving Canberra, I have only a few things I truly miss, food-wise. The beloved shallot cake is close to the top of the list.

I’ve mentioned them before when I was trying to replicate them at home. Well, starting this blog again made me get the urge to try and perfect them. I found the recipe I used the first few times from here and have to say that it is on its own close to perfect. That said, the required amount of shallots is definitely too low (the recipe calls for 7-8 spring onions, I’ve altered the recipe by cooking the chopped green parts of the spring onions in a little soy sauce with some garlic so would recommend doubling the amount of spring onions to ~16). The dough also needs a little something extra that I can’t quite figure out yet…but it’s close to the best we’ve had at Dumpling Inn over the years.

These were deep fried, but they are pretty tasty oven baked (with a little vegetable oil brushed over the tops). I also added a dipping sauce (2 parts soy sauce, 1 part mirin, 1 part sweet chilli sauce, a pinch of hot chilli powder), which is actually pretty amazing to dip these into.

Discussion

One thought on “Shallot cake redux

  1. I LOVE shallots so I’d really like to try these, I’ve never seen them before. And our old local Chinese restaurant was also called Dumpling Inn, such a cute name.

    Posted by Mandee | November 23, 2011, 12:20 am

Leave a Reply

