//
you're reading...
Soup

Nostalgia

We had a local village fair yesterday in our suburb. Walking along the street lined with all sorts of stalls and seeing kids with their faces painted, eating snow cones got me a little nostalgic for the times I went to that very same fair as a child. I guess that sense of nostalgia is a product of moving back to the area I grew up in as I was also recently speaking to my brother about our childhood food ‘adventures’. They were definitely few and far between, as my mother was the only cook in our house and she was quite traditional (i.e. meat and three veg) when we were kids, although she is pretty adventurous these days. But when we did manage to exhaust our parents with our pestering to eat out, it was typically Chinese food we’d eat. I still love Chinese food today, although I’ve only really been completely satisfied with one Canberran restaurant. Nonetheless, after speaking to my brother about this and getting a similar response from him, I’d have to say I occasionally really miss my childhood Chinese restaurant favourite of Wonton soup.

Those chewy wontons, the salty soup, the little bits of shallots floating without purpose…mmm. This is seriously happy family dining memories right there in a bowl. I sipped at this while minding my nephew and wondered what will be the foods he’ll reminisce about in 20 years time. The way he scoffs down cupcakes, I’d say they at least will be on the list.

Wonton soup

Makes 2 serves

Ingredients

Wonton wrappers

Chicken-like stock (I used Massels liquid stock, salt-reduced)

~150g extra firm tofu, dried and crumbled

~4 grated medium-sized button mushrooms

3 stalks of shallots, cut into 1-2 cm lengths

Soy sauce, hot sauce of choice, minced garlic, (or really whatever flavourings you really like) to taste


Fry the tofu in a fry pan until just golden brown. Add the mushrooms and 3/4 of the shallots and sweat for around 5 mins. Add the seasonings of choice and cook for another few minutes. Set aside to cool.

Wonton wrapping is an art, or so I’ve been told after making a bit of mess with my wontons. Essentially, don’t do what I did, which is kind of twist and pinch the wonton sides together until they stuck. It wasn’t pretty. But google definitely came up with a myriad of suggestions of how to fold wontons for those willing to try!

After I bumbled my way through the wonton wrapping, I dumped them into the chicken-like stock with the remaining shallots. The wontons took around 5 mintues to cook through.

Serve hot and think of the happy family dinners you had with family members who thought it was funny to put pepper on your seat when you went to the bathroom and dipped their spring rolls in their coke…

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Nostalgia

  1. That looks so good! It brings back memories of my trip to Vietnam years ago, I don’t think I’ve had wontons since then, I wish I had a bowl of this right now!

    Posted by Mandee | October 31, 2011, 9:55 am
  2. Thanks, Mandee! They were pretty tasty, although you mentioning Vietnam now makes me crave some vegan pho or royal noodle soup, in spite of the hot Sydney weather!

    Posted by Mel | November 1, 2011, 7:01 am
  3. I seriously thought you bought them! They look amazing!
    Puts this azn to shame
    😉

    Posted by shopchop | November 17, 2011, 11:39 am

Leave a Reply

