//
you're reading...
Breakfast/Brunch

Pancake weather

The weather has been seriously strange of late, or perhaps my expectations of spring in Sydney is full of fantasies about wearing 1950s-style dresses and skipping through parks filled with Jacarandas, all the while eating delicious (vegan) ice cream. As we edge closer to summer, the weather has remained more like winter, which means ice cream has stayed put in the freezer and stodgy foods continue to frequent the table. This morning I woke up with a serious desire for pancakes, which is not something that happens very often. My go-to recipe when the cravings do hit has to be the recipe from Vegan with a Vengeance. I’d recommend giving this recipe a go a few times if it doesn’t work out the first time, as I had disastrous results my first go and am glad to have resisted blaming the recipe as these pancakes now consistently come out fluffy, light and not sickly sweet (until you add the syrup or sugar post-cooking, that is). My only additional tip would be to rest the batter for a while in the fridge before cooking them – I rest them up to overnight, although think an hour or so does the trick if you’re able to last that long.

This batch made 7 generous-sized pancakes. Perfect for sharing with the freeloaders who seem to appear out of nowhere while you’re cooking. Here are the four ways we ate them:

Just plain with a little of the most delicious jam (a future ode/blog post will be dedicated to this stuff, no doubt!):

Topped with organic maple syrup and nuttelex:

The classic sugar and lemon juice combo:

And, my favourite of golden syrup and banana, probably due to bananas remaining too pricey to consume on a daily basis in Australia right now:

Make some! You know you want to!

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Pancake weather

  1. this makes me sad that I wasn’t there with you when you were making these
    😦

    Posted by shopchop | October 16, 2011, 10:44 am
  2. Next time we see each other I’ll make them and we can use some of your fancy golden syrup 🙂

    Posted by Mel | October 17, 2011, 3:18 am
  3. I’m enjoying the warmer weather we’re having too, it’s definitely sorbet-making time at my place.

    These pancakes look delicious, it’s been so long since I’ve had the lemon & sugar combo. My fave recipe is from VWAV too, the banana pancakes and I will buy bananas at any price, I needs them!

    Posted by Mandee | October 20, 2011, 9:14 am

Leave a Reply

